A Guide to the Canary Islands in Spain

  • by For Sale By Owner
  • 8 months ago
  • Spain
  • 0

The Canary Islands are at the southernmost tip of Europe. They are a most beautiful archipelago not far off from the coast of Morocco. The main islands in the Canaries are Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote and Fuerteventura.


Millions of tourists visit the Canary Islands every year, many of whom buy bargain properties in Canary Islands through UK estate agents. It’s easy to see why these islands are a popular tourist destination and an overseas property hotspot – they have a picture perfect climate, great location, and a plenty of natural attractions.


The holiday homes in the Canaries are affordable and constructed very well, with all the essential modern amenities. The interesting thing about the Canaries is that each of its islands is different from the other.


The four biggest islands here, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote and Fuerteventura, have completely different and diverse landscapes. We take a look at them and tell you what to expect.




Tenerife is the largest of all Canary Islands and the most heavily populated. It is one of the most visited places in Spain. Tenerife has a warm climate and stays sunny for much of the year. It is also called as the Isla de la Eterna Primavera (or the Island of Eternal Spring).


There are a plenty of attractions in Tenerife for tourists, such as archaeological sites, museums and a vast coastline with plenty of beaches. There are two international airports here, the Tenerife North Airport and Tenerife South Airport, which receive millions of tourists from the UK and elsewhere in Europe throughout the year.


Gran Canaria


Gran Canaria is the third biggest island in the Canaries, but has the highest population density. The temperatures here are a lot cooler than elsewhere in the archipelago. The mountainous regions can have temperatures as low as 10˚C, but never lower than that.


The Gran Canaries are home to the UNESCO’s Biosphere Programme, which covers a part of the Gran Canaries under the East Atlantic Biosphere Reserve Network. This island is noted for its beautiful and diverse natural landscapes, such as large beaches, green gorges and white sand dunes.


The capital of Gran Canaria, Las Palmas, is one of the most visited cities in Spain. It is home to a large British expat community and English is widely spoken here. There are a plenty of flights from the UK to the Gran Canaria Airport, which is the only large airport here.




Fuerteventura is the second biggest Canary island and also the oldest. It was formed as a result of a volcanic formation from 20 million years ago. It has vast, unspoiled beaches and gets a plenty of sun. It was declared as a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve in 2009. Tourists will find a plenty of water sports opportunities here.




Lanzarote is the fourth biggest island in the Canaries. It was originally called as Tyterogaka, which means, ‘one that is all ochre’, but has since been named after the Genovese navigator Lancelotto Malocello. Lanzarote is a volcanic island with solidified lava streams, extreme rock formations and distinctive landscapes. It is covered under the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve status.


Contact us today to buy or sell property in Canary Islands Spain

Compare listings

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: